Topic Options
#65317 - 09/10/14 12:43 PM Student Retainment
ewoodward Offline

Loc: Nova Scotia
Good Afternoon,

I am a relatively new teacher (1 year of experience) and am experiencing difficulty with student retainment and unsure where to turn or what to do about this issue. It's really hard not to take it personally and I am left questioning whether this is a trend in parenting, a deficiency in teaching ability, student personalities or some combination there of.

The majority of excuses I hear are "taking a break" and/or busy with school/sports/extra-curriculars. In many of these students I have noticed a trend of lacking practice habits/time.

I have no formal pedagogical training but have however been reading consistently and recently met with a more experienced teacher all of which indicate that I am on the right track (I think...).

Looking for any advice/encouragement or comments that might be helpful.

So thankful to have a community such as this.

Thanks in advance.

#65318 - 09/10/14 07:01 PM Re: Student Retainment [Re: ewoodward]
EllaCat Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Atlantic Canada
It's really hard to say what might be going on. What I can say, is in my experience, students who don't practise usually quit. It's a bit hard to feel good about piano if you make super slow or non-existent progress. I find it tends to happen around the 2B level, and I can pretty much always see it coming. It's usually accompanied by parents who say "I don't want to hassle her to practise, she has to WANT to do it on her own."

Don't know if that helps at all!

#65320 - 09/11/14 12:26 AM Re: Student Retainment [Re: EllaCat]
ransomed Offline
Resident Member

Loc: New York, USA
It's so frustrating when this happens. Sorry to hear it's not going well.

I know nothing about lessons in your studio, or how you teach. Maybe you are a fabulous teacher!