Topic Options
#65182 - 07/07/14 10:15 AM Hosting my First Christmas Recital
Bridget Offline

Loc: Ohio
I'm hoping to host my first Christmas recital this year, and I'm starting to gather ideas, information, etc, now because I know I'll put it off and it will be too late soon if I don't! I've been teaching for several years now (8),but I've always pushed off the Christmas recital in the past few years. In my first few years, I was an intern teaching under my own teacher, so I simply brought the students there and helped organize with my teacher, but I don't know what it's like to run the show on my own.
Any veteran recital holders have any tips they'd like to pass on? "Do's & Don'ts" that I should really be aware of?

I'm hoping to host the recital in a local coffee shop to give it a more relaxed atmosphere. After helping organize the past recitals, and participating in more than my fair share, this has always seemed to work well on everybody's part around Christmas time. Adults, other children/students, and other family and friends can come, get a hot drink, mingle and chat while nice, live Christmas music plays in the background. The parents obviously focus on their kid when it is their time to shine, but this setup is much less intimidating than the silent, solo walk up to the big, scary piano in a church or hall. And it's just plain fun! I don't want to make Christmas recitals scary. We'll save that for spring time. wink
Thanks!

Edited by Bridget (07/07/14 10:41 AM)

#65188 - 07/08/14 12:21 AM Re: Hosting my First Christmas Recital [Re: Bridget]
Lewisfamily503 Offline