Topic Options
#64266 - 10/28/13 08:56 PM Sibling Beginners - Same Curriculum or Different?
ewoodward Offline

Loc: Nova Scotia
I am looking for suggestions, opinions, experiences, etc. from anyone regarding teaching siblings (ages 7 and 9).

In my particular instance, both students are total beginners and will be starting at the same time - so no chance of staggering using the same curriculum.

Would you recommend using the same curriculum for both students (I know that I can supplement to differentiate, but in reality I am new to this and the lessons and material would probably still end up being similar) or rather, choosing something completely different for each?

#64270 - 10/29/13 10:12 AM Re: Sibling Beginners - Same Curriculum or Different? [Re: ewoodward]
EllaCat Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Atlantic Canada
I'd choose different material, myself. I'd rather avoid any risk of competitiveness developing. The kids will still be able to tell who's further ahead without them being on the exact same pieces - should help mitigate that kind of thing. If they do end up progressing at similar rates though it could open the door to lots of duet possibilities - could be fun!

#64271 - 10/29/13 12:01 PM Re: Sibling Beginners - Same Curriculum or Different? [Re: EllaCat]
SharonAdelle Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Central Valley, CA