Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#65132 - 06/22/14 03:50 PM What Qualifications Should Teachers Have?
Shauna Offline

Hi all, this is my first post. I learned to play the piano while growing up, and can also play saxophone, guitar, and am learning Highland bagpipes. I have never played professionally on any instrument, but I can play decently and would call myself a good musician all-around. I'm not a fantastic sight reader, but can learn challenging pieces if given time, and I have a thorough understanding of basic music theory. I've been teaching my own two kids piano for the past several years using Piano Adventures, as well as some friends' kids upon their parents' request. I team-taught piano lessons with my mom when I was in high school (she has a music degree, etc.).

I don't have any kind of music degree (just a BS in Psychology) or other credentials, and was wondering what credentials or certifications or qualifications piano teachers should have, in all of your opinions. I'm considering taking on more students, but if I am going to do this seriously and take people's money for it I feel like I should probably have something to tell/show people (other than just playing for them) so they can feel assured that I know my stuff.

Looking forward to reading anyone's thoughts!

Shauna

#65133 - 06/24/14 12:49 PM Re: What Qualifications Should Teachers Have? [Re: Shauna]
Joyful Offline
Mainstay Member

Loc: Southern Ontario, Canada
Hi Shauna - there is probably a wide variety of opinions regarding the correct answer to your question.

My story is that I have played piano for over 40 years, and have enjoyed playing piano in Church, and of course taking lessons for a long time.

In College (studying Church music) I was asked by a Church friend to teach her daughter piano (as she had seen me as part of the music worship team). I agreed and thus started my career!