Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#64635 - 01/28/14 04:49 PM Teaching Plan
AusJen Offline

Loc: Australia
Hi!

I'm new to this forum so apologise if I'm repeating a previous topic.

I am from Australia and about to begin teaching piano to my 5 year old daughter. I have never myself had lessons as I learnt the violin as a child and taught myself the piano with the help of computer software (on an old IBM!!). I am thus quite apprehensive. I studied the first lesson plan last night though and felt much more confident to give it a go. Thanks so much for such a great resource!

My question is related to subsequent lessons. How will I know what to repeat from previous lessons and for how long? Is this something that will be clear as we go along? Again, thanks so much for all the videos and resources. They are fantastic!

Any advice is welcome.

As an aside, I have two younger children. What do people do about this if they are in the same boat?

Thanks!

#64641 - 01/30/14 12:59 PM Re: Teaching Plan [Re: AusJen]
EllaCat Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Atlantic Canada
Hi there and welcome! smile

Your question re: review/repetition, and when to move on, to me is both a complicated and a simple answer.

Easy answer: move on when they get it right.

But at what point is it "right enough?" That's the more complicated part. Think about what concepts are being taught in each piece, and look ahead to see what's coming next. How is your daughter doing with those concepts? Are they solid enough that when you add the next layer of complexity, she'll do ok?