Topic Options
#62163 - 02/23/13 01:08 PM Special needs certification???
DebK Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Bc, Canada
Hi All, Been teaching for 16years, I am a Registered Music teacher, I am thinking of getting some sort of certification for teaching students with special needs. I have a diploma in music - I have taught one student with high functioning autism and a couple with ADHD, just wondering if any of you have gotten some certificate somewhere along the lines to work with special needs? I have contacted my local university and in order to get a special needs certificate I either need to get ECE or child and youth care first before I can take the special needs... Two more years of schooling makes no sense financially for me - neither does one year, but I could consider one year if it would open up my demand... I could easily transfer into bachelor of music therapy, but that would mean two more years... Thinking perhaps Orff? Any ideas appreciated.... oh, and online learning would be IDEAL!

#62165 - 02/23/13 04:37 PM Re: Special needs certification??? [Re: DebK]
xstitch4me Offline
Star Member

Loc: Idaho
Is there a high demand for special needs music students?

#62167 - 02/23/13 05:10 PM Re: Special needs certification??? [Re: xstitch4me]
DebK Offline
Resident Member