Topic Options
#56264 - 10/19/11 09:55 PM Speech Delay Student
ransomed Offline
Resident Member

Loc: New York, USA
I recently was approached by a mother who asked me to teach her fourth grade son to play the piano. She said that he has language delay and that he is about 6 months behind his peers in his reading level. I was wondering if anyone could give me some practical tips for working with him.

I met him on Monday. He seems curious, but he was slow to understand playing the same key over and over again (while I played something else with him). He didn't say much. Maybe he was just nervous. Maybe I expected too much from a complete beginner.

I am guessing that reading music will be a challenge, and that new vocabulary will require more effort to stick.

His mom is a speech delay teacher, so I'm sure she can help me. I wanted to ask other piano teachers to share their experiences and advice.

Also, I'm wondering if I should start with MFPA with him instead of primer. It seems to have less words and moves more slowly, and reading on the staff is delayed until a musical context is developed. Thoughts?

#56267 - 10/20/11 11:17 AM Re: Speech Delay Student [Re: ransomed]
pianojazzgirl Offline
Mainstay Member

Loc: Montreal
Do you have any books you could lend him? That way you could do a few lessons before deciding what books to put him in. I think it's quite possible MFPA might be a good fit for him in terms of pacing, but I think most 4th graders would be likely to find it too babyish. Maybe using regular Primer - all 4 books - with extra supplementation and lots of games would be better.

It's a different situation, but for what it's worth right now I'm teaching one student who doesn't read in English (speaks it but only reads in French and Portuguese). We're using Primer and I read the text to her, and her parents read her assignments and text when she's practicing. It hasn't been a problem.

#56268 - 10/20/11 11:28 AM Re: Speech Delay Student [Re: pianojazzgirl]