Topic Options
#47034 - 04/19/10 05:40 PM Is it ok to learn this fast??
FastLearner Offline
Contributing Member

I have been learning piano for less than 2 years. I am currently learning sixteenth notes on PA 3B (although I have already learned sixteenth notes in my school band). My teacher has told me that her most advanced student, a freshman in high school, is at the same point as me in the book, introducing sixteenth notes. She has been learning for at least 7 or 8 years. My teacher even joked that I will probably be her most advanced soon. Is it normal to be learning at this fast rate??

P.S. I am 11 years old, I have once a week 45 minute lessons.

P.S.S. 2 of my friends, who have been learning longer than me, are also behind me. My friend who has learned for 3 years in on PA 2A. And another friend who has been learning for 6 years is also on PA 3B, but not as far.

#47035 - 04/19/10 06:39 PM Re: Is it ok to learn this fast?? [Re: FastLearner]
Piano Kitty Offline
Contributing Member

Loc: USA
Hello Fast Learner:
If my student starts from Grade 1, usually the following is their progress:
Piano Adventure Level 1: half year
Level 2A: 1 year
Level 2B: 1 year
Level 3A: 1 year
Level 3B: 1 year
Total 4 and half years to reach Level 3B.
Since you started later in your life, I will expected you to move faster in your levels. I would say that you are at a little bit faster than average students that I have in my studio.
For your friend that play for 6 years and still in Level 3B, I think that is a little slower than average.
However, I always tell the parents in my studio that all the children is different and their speed is different, that is why we need individual piano lesson but not a group lesson so that as a teacher, I can cater the curriculum, the speed according to student's abilities.
Fast Learner, most important is that you enjoy your piano lesson!
smile

#47046 - 04/20/10 02:52 AM Re: Is it ok to learn this fast?? [Re: Piano Kitty]