Topic Options
#40891 - 03/04/09 11:21 AM how long will it take...
nsigety Offline

Loc: Virginia, USA
Hi,

I am a young children's piano teacher and a student under my own instructor. I started learning piano seriously when I was about 15 or 16, and I started self taught through the Alfred Adult Beginner Course. I learned how to play Fur Elise completely on my own--all three sections, and the Canon in D in the 2nd year book.

I have been taking lessons since I was 17, but it wasn't until I started teaching to put myself through college that I realized how much I wanted to advance more then anything else in the world. It's amazing how much motivation you get from a 5 year old.

anyway, so now I'm will an excellent teacher. She has decided to put me in John Thompson's grade 3, and honestly I'm just flying through it. I work every week for hours before my lessons. I am also playing songs in Martha Mier book 3, and just completed in 2 days "Catch a Dream?" I think that's what it's called.

I'm also playing lots of sonatinas by Clementi and Kulauh in their original versions.

Either way, piano is so much easier for me then it has ever been. Maybe because my mind isn't as closed off and I'm so motivated to advance.

My question is this, my goals as a musician is to ADVANCE. I've been stuck around in the same level areas for far to long. I really feel myself learning now that I studying in Thompson, but when I finish those books how easy will it be for me to play bigger pieces?

My goal is to be able to play Fantasie Impromptu C# Minor, Chopin...how far away is that for me if I continue to practice heavily as I do and complete each book method?

Just curious about what I am doing to reach my goal and i want to be sure I'm putting in the work needed.

#40904 - 03/04/09 08:28 PM Re: how long will it take... [Re: nsigety]
PianoAddict Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Maryland, USA