Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#32707 - 06/11/04 11:20 AM Beginner Adult Student
Ginger Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Indianapolis, Indiana
I have taught a few adults before, but they have already known how to play the piano and just wanted extra help. I have a brand new adult beginnger student that I've had for 1 week. I'll be using the PA for Adults book. I've never used this book (except to teach a couple of lessons to my husband, who was btw the worst student that I've ever had) Has anyone taught beginning adults from this book, and how do you like it? Do your students like it? How fast do they normally go? Can you get through one unit per week? Thank you!

BTW, I'm new so I'll introduce myself. I've been teaching ever since I was in high school. I have a degree in Piano Performance. I graduated 4 years ago and have had an excellent studio (mostly) ever since. I've just moved to a new town, new state, new everything, and am trying to build up my studio again. I have a lot to learn, and each student it seems has a different way of understanding music, so I'm trying to learn fast so I can teach better. I have been reading this forum for a few years now, but I've never joined before untill now because we didn't have the internet at home. Now we do, Yeah!

#32708 - 06/11/04 12:33 PM Re: Beginner Adult Student
CR Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Idaho
Welcome to the forums, Ginger! Glad to have you here. \:\)

In regards to your question -

My one adult student began lessons with me without any prior instruction. I began her in the PA Adult and she's liked it fairly well from the beginning (since December of 2002). There have been some pieces that she wasn't too thrilled, but the majority of the pieces in the book are good. She’s relatively happy with them, and once she’s been reading notes on the staff, I introduce her to some of the Faber supplementary books (she’s currently doing the Classics series).