Topic Options
#32654 - 09/23/03 06:41 PM New to Teaching
PianoMan86 Offline

Loc: Las Vegas
I'm new to this teaching thing and my first student is older then I am. Is this good or bad or should this not make a difference? Should I be starting with an older age student? When I think about it, I think that it actually might be harder to teach her then a little kid, because kids are easily motivated, while adults have to almost do it of there free will. I don't know if it's a smart move. Oh and how much should I charge? thanks for all your replies. :p

#32655 - 09/23/03 09:19 PM Re: New to Teaching
CR Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Idaho
Welcome to the boards, PianoMan. And welcome to the wonderful world of teaching piano. \:\)

In regards to your questions:

It needn't make any difference whether your student is older or younger than you. I have an adult student and though I thought it might have been some sort of *issue* - being that she's older than I am - I was a little hesitant to take her as a student. But so long as I put that matter out of the way and approached it as I did with my young students (mind set of getting them started on the musical journey and exploration of an interest), it was no real problem. She just wanted to learn to play the piano and make music, and since she obviously had no problem with me being younger than her, why should I have a problem with her being older than me? Teachers deal with all ages of students. True, most often it's people younger than them, but a lot of times students will be older than the teacher her/himself. \:\)