Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#27777 - 06/30/04 11:36 AM Re: My Plan
HopkinsHarmony Offline

Loc: Minnesota
Thank you Susan. I'm glad I was able to clear those things up. When you mentioned how your daughter used Bastien and plays beautifully, it reminded me how both my sister and I took lessons for years from 2nd grade through college and completed the entire Bastien series our first few years before going on to intermediate and now advanced stuff. We've never had problems with note-naming, rhythms, etc. I was even talking to my mom about that one time and she never remembers us talking about or using hand positions or anything the whole time we were using the Bastien series. She and my dad helped us practice a lot and I think we did just fine with Bastien. We never even had supplementary things like flashcards. Now we're both pretty good pianists and piano teachers. I'm also a Music Ed student and have been teaching for almost 10 years. I wonder if it's just today's kids? Everything is so rushed these days and parents (at least the parents of many of my students) don't take the time to help their kids practice and understand things. When my sister and I were growing up, we took time with my parents to practice and do theory and we weren't trying to rush everything. We were involved in some activities but not everything like today's kids are! Maybe this has something to do with it.

OR, maybe I'm not teaching it right? ...

#27778 - 06/30/04 02:10 PM Re: My Plan
Jalapeņa Offline
Star Member

Loc: New Mexico