Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#27677 - 12/19/02 05:44 PM Is Hanon Harmful???
jen7 Offline

Loc: south Texas
I have been playing the piano for 12 years now, and just started using Hanon off and on about 2 years ago. (While at a piano workshop I played a piece for the teacher, showing her where I had problems... she told me my fingers were weak and I needed Hanon!) It was not until this August that I really was dedicated to play/practice it though. I noticed about a month ago that my fingers, hands, and sometimes my arms, were aching and felt stiff/sore. I've played up to #37 so far in the book, and practice for only an hour a day, so it's not like I'm over-doing anything. However, this week I'm off from lessons and so I'm not practicing every day, AND I've been noticing that my fingers do not hurt anymore. ??? Does anyone know if Hanon could *wear* your fingers out? Any thoughts and/or ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

#27678 - 12/19/02 08:15 PM Re: Is Hanon Harmful???
Lisa Kalmar Offline
Star Member

Loc: KC
Hanon can be crippling when practiced incorrectly. I refuse to used it in my studio or personal practice as the "directions" suggest because there are far better ways to skin a cat. I only use snippets of it and not very often and many times with velocity/independence not the goal.

It is impossible to give a diagnosis over the internet, but if you are pushing yourself a la the directions you are most probably creating all tension and no release. This is a sure fire set up for tendonitis, etc. Try various search engines on the internet such as Hanon + arm pain or, etc. for all sorts of information.

I would also advise that you check out the work of Barbara Lister-Sink, both her website and video, as a means of introduction to a different way of thinking about technique. Finger strength can be highly overrated, particularly if one is unlucky enough to sustain an injury while trying to get it! \:\)

#27679 - 12/31/02 04:32 AM Re: Is Hanon Harmful???