Topic Options
#27176 - 08/15/01 11:00 PM lagging left hand
pskim Offline

I have always had trouble with my scales because my left hand always drags behind when I play the scales fast. I have practiced slowly and gradually upped the tempo but even after many years of practicing I still have dragging left hand. Any good practice suggestions? By the way, I was mostly self-taught and didn't have a teacher to guide me until I entered university as a piano performance major. (That was 12 years ago)

[ 08-16-2001: Message edited by: pskim ]

#27177 - 08/16/01 01:49 AM Re: lagging left hand
Rhapsody Offline
Star Member

P S Kim,

I'm the most right-handed person on the planet \:o and I've given left-handitis a lot of thought. There are all sorts of suggestions that I could give you such as conduct or play drums with the left hand, use the mouse with your left hand, eat, drink, and do anything where you aren't likely to hurt yourself to help aid in the coordination and refinement of the motor control in your left hand and arm. Practice scales and other piano exercises more with the left hand than the right. Your right hand probably needs much less practice. After putting all the above into pracice, perhaps the best thing I can suggest is a mental aid that I have found often helps more than anything else: Don't try to make your left hand keep up with your right so that you sense it is lagging behind. Instead think of your left hand as the dominant hand or the leader. Don't go faster than your left hand can accurately lead. Expect more of the correct hand for the left side of your body but don't get frustrated if it doesn't always meet the high performance standards of your right hand.

#27178 - 08/16/01 04:08 PM Re: lagging left hand
Jason Offline
Star Member

Loc: Iowa City, IA
I'd suggest playing the left hand a good bit louder than the right. That way, it'll be easier to focus your listening on it, which should do wonders.