Topic Options
#26812 - 07/05/00 11:51 AM Tone color
Dan Saydak Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
a quote from the most recent interview on the Piano Education page:"I think that there are many ways to play the piano, but it seems to me that one thing that all convincing "methods" share is learning to produce a wide palette of tonal color from the instrument, and maintaining a relaxed stance to avoid tension and resulting injury. "
my question (from someone just beginning to learn about such things) is, Just how exactly does one produce different tone colors from the piano? A beginner might think that all you can do is play a note louder or quieter, or maybe use the pedal. as a guitarist, I can produce a wide range of tone colors by subtle (or not so subtle) variations in right hand technique....use of fingernails/pick, playing over or far from the soundhole, various damping techniques etc. But what can you do to produce different tone colors on a piano, and how do you develop an ear to hear them in the first place???

#26813 - 07/05/00 12:05 PM Re: Tone color
Lisa Kalmar Offline
Star Member

Loc: KC
Hi Dan!
One of the more interesting (and subtle) ways you are probably ready for experimenting with is the difference one can create on the damper pedal. I don't know what kind of piano you have, but, if you have access to a grand, listen to the difference in sound between half-damped and full damped. I always have my students look & listen to the dampers til they feel, hear & master the difference. (Half-damped would be applying just enough pressure til they are barely above the strings.) The impressionistic literature primarily calls for this "barely there" damping technique. It makes a world of difference in the end result. Do you have the Rollin Spotlight on Impressionistic Style? That would be a great book to start with. You might also experiment with the pieces in your Out of This World book to see the amazing difference it makes.