Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#26659 - 05/29/01 08:45 PM Music for Little Mozarts (new thread)
bethann Offline
Resident Member

Loc: Nebraska
OK, I think someone has gone over this in an earlier post. In fact, I may have even asked this question before. What does everybody think of Music for Little Mozarts? I am starting a five year old next week

(I know, I said I didn't take them younger than six, but I have her brother in lessons and the mom is vigilant about practicing with him, so I am making an exception!)

I have no experience with MFLM. I have used Bastien's Piano Party and hated it! The three note chords drove me crazy and the cluttered look of the pages did too!

MFLM costs more than Piano Party, but I am willing to invest in the whole enchillata if it is worth it. I have also used Alfred's Prep Course, but it seems too mature for a five or six year old. Frankly, I hated that series too!

Any feedback would be helpful! Thank You!

#26660 - 05/30/01 06:44 AM Re: Music for Little Mozarts (new thread)
Jalapeņo Offline
Star Member

I used MFLM last year with a 4-yr.-old girl. She seemed to like it a lot, except that she didn't go in for the Beethoven Bear & Mozart Mouse characters. I didn't have her long enough to know whether the method works well or not. Her mother pulled her & her older brother (who was in PA Primer & also doing well) out of lessons.

I personally don't think the MFLM method is all that great. I don't particularly care for the Bastien Piano Party books, either. I'm hoping that the Fabers will release their PA pre-primer books soon, before I enroll any more 4- & 5-year-old beginners.

#26661 - 05/30/01 07:39 AM Re: Music for Little Mozarts (new thread)
Eric Offline
Star Member

Loc: New York, NY