Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#26167 - 08/25/04 10:03 AM New teacher - please help!
kcowley Offline

Loc: Herriman, Utah
Hello all. I am a new piano teacher and need some tips. I only have a few students right now and they will all be on the Accelerated PA. I was planning on having them use the four books: Lesson, Theory, Technique and Artistry, and Preformance. Is there anything I am missing? Should I have them buy a notebook to write down what they need to practice? How much of the lessons should be divided up into what books? The lessons will be once a week for 30 minutes. Is there an assignment book? Please help! Thank you!

#26168 - 08/25/04 10:25 AM Re: New teacher - please help!
shannonspiano Offline
Mainstay Member

Loc: WI
Hi i hope you have a great start to teaching. My suggestion yes use a notebook or student organizer of some sort. They make remembering much easier. I'm a game person... Play lots of games with your students, if they look bored switch and get off the bench.. I don't use the theory books for the first 2 books, my students don't do them, hence the games. But to each their own. Don't expect to play from each book each week..
Hth

#26169 - 08/25/04 11:03 AM Re: New teacher - please help!
Carole Offline
Star Member

Loc: southern California